27 Nov 2021

A somewhat different experience owing to the continued effects of the pandemic; nevertheless, the ITTF Annual General Meeting proceeded in a smooth and most efficient manner in Houston on Wednesday 24th November.

Proceedings were universally approved.

by Ian Marshall

It was an occasion to hand over the baton of office, Sweden’s Petra Sörling succeeding Germany’s Thomas Weikert in the Presidential role.

Equally, four years having passed since the elections in 2017 in Düsseldorf, Executive Vice-Presidents were voted to office:

  • Wahid Oshodi (Nigeria)
  • Liu Guoliang (China)
  • Alaor Azevedo (Brazil)
  • Khalil Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)
  • Alaa Meshref (Egypt)
  • Masahiro Maehara (Japan)
  • Roland Natran (Hungary)
  • Graham Symons (Australia)


Elected Vice Presidents with Ryu Seungmin (far left), Zoran Primorac (far right) and ITTF Chief Executive, Steve Dainton (fourth from right) (Photo: Rémy Gros)


Positions ratified

Likewise, the Board of Directors, in addition to various Committees – Equipment, Media, Para, Rules, Sports Science & Medicine, Umpires & Referees, Veterans – were ratified.

A situation that also applied to the Continental Reports and Financial Statements.

Notably all proposals were duly accepted by large majorities, none proving contentious, primarily relating to updates, procedures and articles relevant to the good governance.


Moreover, it was an opportunity to pay tribute and acknowledge outstanding contributions in recent times.

Presentations were made to USA Table Tennis and the Harris County Houston Sports Authority; the awards recognising the exceptional work fulfilled in making the 2021 World Championships possible in most difficult times.

Also, Double Happiness and Tamasu Butterfly, equipment suppliers, were congratulated for their contributions to the event.

Likewise, the Chinese National Olympic Committee and the Chinese Table Tennis Association received plaques an appreciation of making Restart possible in 2020.

Most notably, Kenya’s Jane Pinto was made an ITTF Personal Honorary Member and Thomas Weikert thanked for his contribution for seven years as an ITTF Official.

Busan gains vote

Meanwhile, Busan was elected host for the 2024 World Team Championships Finals.

Reports from Chengdu and Durban, respective hosts for the next editions of the global event were received.

Matters closed with Petra Sörling thanking all concerned and, in a most positive manner, looking forward to the next four years.

A more informal atmosphere, Busan celebrates (Photo: Rémy Gros)
General News 2021 ITTF AGM