23 Feb 2018

The home for the World Veteran Championships in 2016, when all previous records in terms of numbers were beaten, Alicante will welcome later this year players very much at the opposite end of the age scale.

Situated on Spain’s Costa Blanca, the splendidly located city will host the 2018 ITTF World Hopes Week and Challenge from Monday 30th July to Sunday 5th August.

Dora Jeler-Kösters, ITTF High Performance and Development Operations Manager

At the week-long event, the selection for the Hopes Team for the 2018 World Cadet Challenge to be held in Tottori, Japan from Tuesday 23rd to Wednesday 31st October will be made.

Prior to the meeting in Alicante, Hopes players will have the opportunity to display their skills at national, regional and continental events.

The 2018 Continental Hopes Week and Challenge schedule is:

  • Asia – Thailand (Bangkok): Monday 5th – Monday 12th March
  • Europe – Luxembourg: Monday 2nd – Monday 9th April
  • Oceania – Australia (Townsville): Monday 9th – Saturday 14th April
  • Africa – Mauritius (Beau Bassin): Monday 7th May – Sunday 13th May
  • North America – Canada: Thursday 31st May 31 – Saturday 2nd June
  • Latin America – Paraguay (Luque): already staged in 2017 from Sunday 17th to Saturday 23rd September


2018 Hopes Infographics: Presented in English

2018 Hopes Infographics: Presented in Arabic

2018 Hopes Infographics: Presented in French

2018 Hopes Infographics: Presented in Spanish

2018 ITTF Hopes ITTF Hopes Week and Challenge