28 Oct 2017

Precedence prevailed as play in the initial phase of the Junior Boys’ Team event at the 2017 India Junior and Cadet Open in Greater Noida came to a conclusion on Saturday 28th October, the first day of action in the five day ITTF World Junior Circuit Premium tournament.

Furthermore, there was plenty of cause for there to be smiles on Indian faces.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

The top seeds, on duty for India ‘A’, selecting from Manav Vikask Thakkar, Jeet Chandra and Manush Utpalbhai Shah, first place was duly secured. Likewise their colleagues Anukram Jain, Snehit Suravajjula and Parth Virmani representing India ‘B’ and occupying the second seeded position, ended the day without defeat and at the head of the group.

Two host nation teams through to the main draw, there was one more. India ‘D’ with Sohan Bhattacharya, Hardik Khurana and Kaushal Bhatt being the selection, finished in second place in their group behind the third seeded pairing of Thailand’s Yanapong Panagitgun and Singapore’s Pang Yew En Koen.

A place in the main draw courtesy of runners up spot; it was the same for the Korean outfit comprising Lee Sangeun, Jeong Unseo and Kim Hongbin. They finished in second place behind Manav Vikask Thakkar, Jeet Chandra and Manush Utpalbhai Shah.

Second spot for one of the most developed nations in the sport of table tennis and there was also second place for one that is developing. Nepal’s Sanyong Kapali and Santoo Shrestha finished the day one place behind Anukram Jain, Snehit Suravajjula and Parth Virmani; thus progress to the main draw.

Notable performances but the player to catch the eye was Jordan’s Khaled Khader who partnered compatriot Hasan Alhourani. Against Korea, in what was to be a three-two defeat, he beat both Kim Hongbin (7-11, 11-8, 7-11, 11-5, 12-10) and Lee Sanghun (13-15, 12- 10, 6-1 1, 11-9, 11-7).

First places for India in the Junior Boys’ Team event; it was the same in the Cadet Boys’ Team competition where there were also three groups in the initial phase.

India ‘A’ with Himnakulhpuingheta Jeho, Payas Jain and Chinmaya Somaiya in action finished in first place in their group as did India ‘B’ represented by Jayab Bhattacharjee, Dev Shroff and Hrishikesh Malhotra. Likewise it was first position for India ‘C’ represented by Lairemruata Alberto, Arush Dutt and Divyan Srivastava.

Second places were secured by the India ‘D’ formation of Agniv Bhaskar Gohain, Yashansh Malik and Vishwa Deenadayalan, alongside the United Arab Emirates pairing of Abdulla Abdulla and Mohammed Abdulla. Similarly it was pole position for Sri Lanka’s Pitiyage Silva and Adith Ariyarante Yodage.

Play in the Junior Boys’ Team and Cadet Boys’ team events concludes on Sunday 29th October.

World Junior Circuit 2017 India Junior and Cadet Open Manush Utpalbhai Shah Jeet Chandra Snehit Suravajjula Parth Virmani. Anukram Jain Manav Vikask Thakkar

No results found.