08 Apr 2017

The names of Jeoung Youngsik and Lee Sangsu remain, as do those of Suh Hyowon and Yang Haeun; they are the players who represented Korea in 2016 at both the Perfect World Team Championships in Kuala Lumpur and at the Rio Olympic Games.

All four are in action at the forthcoming Seamaster 2017 Asian Championships, which commence in the Chinese city of Wuxi on Sunday 9th April.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

However, there is one notable omission, one notable addition.

Joo Saehyuk, crucial to Korea’s bronze medal in the Men’s Team event at the London 2012 Olympic Games and on duty in Rio de Janeiro, does not appear on the entry list.

Conversely, fellow defender, Kim Kyungah, Women’s Singles bronze medallist at the Athens 2004 Olympic Games, returns to duty. Alongside Lee Zion, who was a member of the squad last year in Malaysia and Lee Hunju, new to the senior outfit; she completes the Korean Women’s Team.

The notable further differences to last year’s Korean Women’s Team are that Jeon Jihee, who completed the Rio 2016 Olympic Games line up does not feature; neither does Park Youngsook nor Kim Jiho, they competed in the Perfect 2016 World Championships.

Notably, in the Korean Men’s Team selection, Jang Woojin and Jeoung Sangeun, both in the Kuala Lumpur selection, are on duty in Wuxi, whilst Kim Minseok, winner of the Under 21 Men’s Singles title at the 2011 ITTF World Tour Grand Finals in London, is recalled.

All five namesselected for the Men’s Team and Women’s Team events, appear in the respective Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles competitions.

Meanwhile, in the Men’s Doubles, Lee Sangsu and Jeoung Youngsik alongside Jang Woojin and Jeong Sangeun form the pairings; for the Women’s Doubles it is Kim Kyungah and Suh Hyowon, Lee Zion and Yang Haeun.

Lee Sangsu and Yang Haeun in addition to Kim Minseok and Lee Zion comprise the Mixed Doubles pairings.



Seamaster 2017 Asian Championships Korea

No results found.