15 Feb 2017

First place in the group in the Women’s Singles event in the qualification tournament for the Seamaster 2017 ITTF World Tour Indian Open in New Delhi was assured for Archana Girish Kamath and Priyanka Das, before the second day of play, Wednesday 15th February, began.

The question to be answered was as to who could achieve the same feat; the answer emerged as Amrutha Pushpak and Sutirtha Mukherjee.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

In a competition involving only players from the host nation, Amrutha Pushpak, who on the opening day of play had beaten Sreeja Akula (11-9, 11-7, 11-4, 11-4), claimed top spot by overcoming Selena Selvakumar (11-9, 6-11, 11-7, 12-10, 9-11, 11-9) to end the event unbeaten.

However, for Sutirtha Mukherjee life was much different; in her concluding group stage contest, she was beaten by Krittwika Roy. She experienced defeat in a full distance seven games duel (11-6, 12-10, 9-11, 7-11, 11-9, 7-11, 11-7).

Pertinently, one day earlier, Sutirtha Mukherjee had beaten Madhurika Patkar in five games (11-9, 13-11, 11-8, 6-11, 11-4); one match earlier Madhurika Patkar having accounted for Krittwika Roy by a similar margin (9-11, 11-1, 11-7, 11-8, 11-8).

Thus games ratio determined the outcome; the end result was first place for Sutirtha Mukherjee (7:5), with Madhurika Patkar in second spot (5:4) followed by Krittwika Roy (5:7).

Perhaps a measure of disappointment for Sutirtha Mukherjee having suffered defeat in her concluding group phase contest but there was no need for alarm. All players in the Women’s Singles qualification tournament advance to the main event, the final position in the group determining their place in the main draw.

Meanwhile, in the remaining groups Mousumi Paul beat Harsha Vardhini Calange (11-5, 11-9, 11-9, 11-5) to secure second place behind Achana Girish Kamath; similarly, Moumita Dutta concluded matters in runners up spot.

She accounted for Priyadarshini Das (11-4, 6-11, 11-7, 6-11, 11-9, 11-6) to finish next in line to Priyanka Pareek.

World Tour 2017 Seamaster India Open Sutirtha Mukherjee Krittwika Roy Amrutha Pushpak

No results found.