17 Sep 2016

Five groups in the initial stage of the Junior Boys’ Team event at the 2016 Croatia Junior and Cadet Open in Varazdin; when matters closed on the evening of Friday 16th February, it was first place in the group for the top three teams but not for the next two in the order of merit.

Japan’s Yu Kayama, Aoto Asazu and Takeru Kishiwa secured first place as did the combination formed by Vitor Liu of the United States who lined up alongside Chinese Taipei’s Li Hsin-Yang and Feng Yi-Hsin. Also, the outfit formed by Italy’s Matteo Mutti, Portugal’s Vitor Amorin and Adar Alguetti of the United States reserved pole position.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

However, for the fourth seeded Czech Republic outfit of Vlastimil Buben, Jiri Martinko and Jan Valenta, it was second place in the group, as it was for the fifth seeded Slovak Republic combination of Tibor Spanik, Stefan Peko and Jakub Zelinka.

Comprehensive defeats

Both teams suffered heavy defeats; a three-one reverse against the outfit comprising Moldova’s Andrei Putuntica and Vladislav Ursu, who joined forces with Keenan Southall of the United States, was the order of proceedings for the Czech Republic.

In fact it was a virtual three-nil defeat; the only success for the Czech Republic was a walk-over recorded by Jan Valenta against Keenan Southall. Otherwise it was defeat after defeat.

Andrei Putuntica beat both Vlastimil Buben (3-11, 11-5, 11-5, 12-10) and Jiri Martinko (11-3, 11-6, 11-3), whilst Vladislav Ursu also defeated Jiri Martinko (11-5, 11-8, 11-4).

Three-nil defeat

Meanwhile for the Slovak Republic, it was a three-nil defeat; they suffered at the hands of the combination formed by Montenegro’s Filip Radovic who allied with Serbia’s Aleksa Gaev and Dimitrije Levajac.

Aleksa Gacev beat Tibor Spanik (8-11, 11-6, 5-11, 11-9, 11-9); Filip Radovic defeated Stefan Petko (11-5, 10-12, 11-3, 13-11) with Dimitrije Levajac concluding matters. He overcame Jakub Zelinka (11-8, 8-11, 11-2, 11-8).

Cadet Boys’ Team

A total of five groups in the initial stage of the Junior Boys’ Team event, in the Cadet Boys’ Team event it was six.

First places were secured by the United States (Gal Alguetti, Sharon Alguetti), Hungary (Saba Andras, Oliver Booth) and Russia (Maksim Grebnev, Vladislav Makarov, Anatoli Smirnov,

Likewise Belgium (Nicolas Degros, Adrien Rosenfosse), the Czech Republic (Tomas Martinko, Simon Belik) and Hungary ‘B’ (Erik Huzsvar, Mate Ocsai, Norbert Terek) reserved first positions.

Team events conclude

The Junior Boys’ Team and Cadet Boys’ Team events conclude on Saturday 17th September.


World Junior Circuit Croatia Junior and Cadet Open Yu Kayama