21 Oct 2023

Held one year later than originally scheduled, prominent names head Asian Games entry list.

A passport to the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games; that is the prize on offer for the winners of the men’s singles and women’s singles events at the forthcoming ITTF Asian Para Games 2022, the seven-day tournament commencing in the Chinese city of Hangzhou city on Sunday 22nd October.

Furthermore, there is no shortage of players on duty who have secured the ultimate prize at the quadrennial sporting gathering.

Chinese names top the list, for the men it is Feng Panfeng (class 3), gold medallist at the most recent four Paralympic Games; he defends the Asian Para Games title won in 2018 when proceedings were staged in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Meanwhile for the women, the standout names are Liu Jing (class 4), Zhang Bian (class 5) and Mao Jingdian (class 8).

Zhang Bian and Mao Jingdian both emerged successful at the most recent three Paralympic Games; Liu Jing struck gold in 2008, 2012 and 2020.

Similar to Feng Panfeng, Zhang Bian and Mao Jingdian were successful five years ago in Jakarta; for Liu Jing it is her Asian Para Games debut.

Paralympic Games success and defending titles, for the men it is the same for Korea Republic’s Kim Younggun (class 4) and Thailand’s Rungroj Thainiyom (class 6) as well as for the Chinese trio comprising Cao Ningning (class 5), Yan Shuo (class 7) and Zhao Shuai (class 8).

At the Paralympic Games, Kim Younggun secured gold in 2004, Cao Ningning in 2016, Rungroj Thainiyom in 2012, Yan Shuo in 2020; Zhao Shuai in both 2012 and 2020.

Alongside Mao Jingdian and Zhang Bian, Paralympic Games gold medallist, Xue Juan (class 3), victorious in 2016 and 2020, defends her title.

Likewise, the goal for Korea Republic’s leading male players is to repeat 2018 success, Nam Kiwon (class 1), Park Jincheol (class 2) and Kim Gitae (class 11) all compete.

Notably, Nam Kiwon and Kim Gitae are reigning World champions, Park Jincheol won gold at the Asian Para Championships in both 2017 in Beijing and 2019 in Taichung.

Names to note from the Korea Republic; also, the name of Joo Youngdae (class 1) can be added, as can that of China’s Zhao Yi Qing (class 9).

Joo Youngdae, gold medallist at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, enjoyed success at the Asian Para Games in 2014 in Incheon; like Park Jincheol, Zhao Yi Qing was an Asian Championships gold medallist in 2017 and 2019.

Title contenders, in the women’s singles, China’s Wang Rui (class 7) and Xiong Guoyan (class 9) are names of which to be aware, as are those of Korea Republic’s Lee Kunwoo (class 6) and Hong Kong’s Ng Mui Wu (class 11).

All defend their Jakarta titles; Wang Rui and Xiong Guoyan were both gold medallists at the 2014 Asian Para Games, Lee Kunwoo and Ng Mui Wu both struck gold at the 2019 Asian Para Championships.

Play commences with the men’s singles and women’s singles events.

General News ITTF Asian Para Games 2023 Para Table Tennis