07 Sep 2023

ITTF Expands Executive Board Portfolio to Align with New Strategic Plan

Dr. Alaa Meshref has been appointed as the ITTF Executive Vice President of Finance. His expertise will play a pivotal role in ensuring the federation’s financial operations remain robust and sustainable.

Dr. Meshref’s remarkable journey in table tennis includes championship titles and medals earned as an Egyptian National Team player. In the administrative arena, he has led the Egypt Table Tennis Federation and holds key positions within the Egyptian Olympic Committee. Elected to the ITTF Executive Board in 2017 and reelected in 2021, he oversees the Athletes, Development, Finance, IT & Digitalisation portfolios, contributing significantly to the federation’s growth. Besides his sports achievements, Dr. Meshref is a distinguished Urology professor.

In line with its new strategic plan, aimed at propelling table tennis into an era of sustainable growth and global distinction, the ITTF has announced the creation of a dedicated Business Unit under the Executive Board’s supervision. This pioneering step underscores the federation’s commitment to fostering business growth within table tennis, driven by valuable feedback from Member Associations.

The Business Unit will be led by Executive Vice President Roland Natran, whose wealth of experience will drive this initiative forward. This portfolio addition ensures that the Executive Board can provide strategic oversight and valuable input into the business development of the sport. A dedicated team for the Business Unit will be assembled in the coming weeks.

For more information about the ITTF and its ongoing initiatives, please refer to the list of ITTF Executive Committee members and their respective portfolios:

  • Petra SÖRLING, President: Strategic Plan, Human Resources, Sustainability, Olympic and Paralympic Games, Academies, External Relations, Member Relations, Diversity (Gender, Universality)
  • LIU Guoliang, Deputy President: Commercial (WTT), High Performance, ITTF Museum
  • Dr. Alaa MESHREF, Executive Vice President: Athletes, Development, Finance, IT & Digitalisation
  • Khalil AL-MOHANNADI, Senior Executive Vice President: Continental Council, Events, World Championships
  • Alaor AZEVEDO, Executive Vice President: Health, Innovation, Para Table Tennis
  • Masahiro MAEHARA, Executive Vice President: Entourage, Home of Table Tennis, Sport Science
  • Roland NATRAN, Executive Vice President: Business Unit, Masters
  • Wahid OSHODI, Executive Vice President: Communications & Protocol, Governance, World Ranking
  • Graham SYMONS, Executive Vice President: Clean Sport / Integrity, Equipment, Sport for All
  • Sharath Kamal ACHANTA: Chair, Athletes Commission
  • LIU Shiwen: Chair, Athletes Commission
  • RYU Seungmin, IOC Member: Olympic and Paralympic Games (together with Petra SÖRLING)
General News