18 Feb 2024

The International Table Tennis Federation is pleased to announce the ITTF Athletes’ Commission election results. The following ten athletes were elected by their peers out of 25 candidates; they will serve a four-year term.

Athlete Name Percentage Election criteria
SAMARA Elizabeta (ROU – F) 74.91 Highest-voted Athlete from Europe
ACHANTA Sharath Kamal (IND – M) 66.08 Highest-voted Athlete from Asia
RIOS Daniely (PUR – F) 46.64 Highest-voted Athlete from the Americas
ASSAR Omar (EGY – M) 45.94 Highest-voted Athlete from Africa
TAPPER Melissa (AUS – F) 42.40 Highest-voted Athlete from Oceania
FEGERL Stefan (AUT – M) 57.95 Next highest voted Athlete
PERSSON Jon (SWE – M) 57.60 Next highest voted Athlete
LIU Shiwen (CHN – F) 54.77 Next highest voted Athlete
Para-Athlete Name Percentage Election criteria
LUNDBACK Ingela (SWE – F) 52.26 Highest wheelchair Para-Athlete
VAN ZON Kelly (NED – F) 48.39 Highest standing Para-Athlete


The elections were held between Monday 7 to Sunday 13 November. Voting was online, using LUMI ®. The number of voters among athletes increased by 18% compared with the election held in 2018, while participation of para-athletes almost tripled.

“I would like to thank all the candidates and congratulate the ten elected athletes. The Executive Committee and I are looking forward to working closely with them. The Athletes Commission is crucial as it links the athletes and the ITTF, ensuring the athletes’ priorities and viewpoints are communicated and represented. I am also delighted by the large increase in the number of votes; our athletes are more and more engaged in the future direction of the sport of table tennis.” – Petra Sörling, ITTF President

“The whole management team looks forward to working with the new members of the Athlete Commission. We will support them more than ever as they help us understand their aspirations, hopes, and dreams for table tennis. Their ideas and insights will be invaluable for our mission to develop our sport.” – Steve Dainton, ITTF Group CEO

All members of the Athletes’ Commission will be invited to the forthcoming ITTF Summit in December in Amman, Jordan. At the summit, the commission along with IOC Athletes’ Commission member Ryu Seung-Min, will elect two chairs to sit on the ITTF Executive Committee. For the first time the two chairs will be one man and one woman to ensure gender parity.

Full results and information about the ITTF Athletes’ Commission election can be found here.

General News Press Releases Athletes Commission Athletes Commission