21 Jun 2020

Semi-finalist at the most recent tournaments in the Düsseldorf Masters series, Kanak Jha is the top seed for the fourth edition; notably the previous winners, Timo Boll, successful at the opening event, followed by Dimitrij Ovtcharov with consecutive wins, do not compete.

Play commences in the ARAG Arena on Monday 22nd June.

by Ian Marshall, Editor

An opportunity for Kanak Jha to climb two steps higher up the ladder, it is also a chance for the players against whom he experienced defeat, to advance one rung higher.

In the second tournament he was beaten by Qiu Dang (7-11, 11-3, 11-5, 5-11, 11-9); in the third by Omar Assar (11-4, 9-11, 10-12, 11-4, 11-9, 11-8). Both experienced defeat at the final hurdle when facing Dimitrij Ovtcharov; Qiu Dang was beaten in four games (11-7, 11-2, 7-11, 11-6), Omar Assar in a full distance contest (11-9, 11-7, 10-12, 8-11, 11-8, 8-11, 11-6).

Qiu Dang, ever present Photo: Jörg Fuhrmann Revierfoto)


Both Omar Assar and Qiu Dang are major contenders in the fourth tournament; Omar Assar is the no.2 seed, Qiu Dang is the no.4 seed, sandwiched in between is Benedikt Duda.

Significantly, it is for Qiu Dang his fourth consecutive appearance; it is the same for Gerrit Engemann, Tobias Hippler, Nils Hohmeier and Meng Fanbo.

First appearance

Somewhat differently, Bastian Steger, now 39 years old, a member of the German bronze medal winning team at both the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games makes his debut. He is the no.6 seed, listed one place behind Alberto Miño; Steffen Mengel is the no.7 seed, Tobias Hippler completes the top eight names.

Bastian Steger makes his first appearance (Photo: Rémy Gros)


A new winner to be crowned in what is a slightly new formula; there are 15 players involved, one less than at the preceding three events. Once again play is organised on a direct knock-out basis and, as last week, matches are best of seven games throughout.

Likewise, play is over a three day period but with a one day break; the first round and quarter-final matches will conclude on Tuesday 23rd June, the semi-finals and final will be played on Thursday 25th June.

Live Broadcast



Monday 22nd June: Round One
09.30 Kanak Jha (1) v Felix Köhler
10.15 Alberto Miño (5) v Meng Fanbo
11.00 Bastian Steger (6) v Tobias Slanina
11.45 Omar Assar (2) v Nils Hohmeier
12.30 Qiu Dang (4) v Gerrit Engemann
13.15 Tobias Hippler (8) v Cédric Meissner

Tuesday 23rd June: Round One
09.00 Steffen Mengel v Kirill Fadeev

Tuesday 23rd June: Quarter-Final
10.15 Benedikt Duda v Tobias Hippler or Cédric Meissner
11.10 Kanak Jha or Felix Köhler v Bastian Steger or Tobias Slanina
12.05 Omar Assar or Nils Hohmeier v Steffen Mengel or Kirill Fadeev
13.00 Qiu Dang or Gerrit Engemann v Alberto Miño or Meng Fanbo

Thursday 25th June
10.00 Semi-Final
11.00 Semi-Final
14.00 Final

Numbers in brackets indicate seeding; times are the earliest the match will be played

General News Kanak Jha