25 Sep 2018

Gold for Eva Brito, Esmerlyn Castro and Yasiris Ortiz; soon after it was success for their male colleagues, Samuel Galvez, Emil Santos and Isaac Vila, as the Dominican Republic added the Men’s Team title their collection on the early evening of Monday 24th September.

The ladies had donned the Women’s Team crown without the loss of a single individual match; for the trio comprising Samuel Galvez, Emil Santos and Isaac Vila, the outcome was almost as convincing; they surrendered just one.

by Ian Marshall, Editor

Similar to their female counterparts, Guyana proved the opposition in the final.

A three-one win for the Dominican Republic was the end result, the one success for the eventual runners up being that secured by Shemar Britton. In the third match of the fixture, he beat Samuel Galvez (6-11, 11-7, 9-11, 12-10, 11-5).

However, that was to be the only success for Guyana; later in the fourth match of  the itinerary, he lost to Emil Santos (11-6, 11-8, 11-8), the player who in the opening contest of the engagement had accounted for Christopher Franklin (11-4, 11-7, 11-2). The one remaining win for the Dominican Republic was secured by Isaac Vila; in the third match of the fixture, he overcame Joel Alleyne (11-6, 11-5, 11-4).

Earlier in the day, at the semi-final stage Samuel Galvez, Emil Santos and Isaac Vila had combined to beat the Trinidad and Tobago outfit formed by Yuvraaj Dookram, Curtis Humphreys and Arun Roopnarine by three matches to nil. In a rather more closely contested encounter, Joel Alleyne, Shermar Britton and Christopher Franklin had been extended the full five match distance by the Barbados outfit comprising Mark Dowell, Tyrese Knight and Marcus Smith.

Furthermore, after the opening two matches against Barbados, the Guyana trio faced defeat. Shemar Britton lost to Mark Dowell (11-8, 7-11, 11-7, 11-7), before Christopher Franklin was beaten by Tyrese Knight (11-2, 6-11, 14-12, 11-7). It was at that stage the recovery began. Joel Alleyne accounted for Marcus Smith (11-5, 11-5, 11-6), Shemar Britton followed suit by overcoming Tyrese Knight (11-6, 15-13, 9-11, 11-8), prior to Christopher Franklin defeating Mark Dowell (11-9, 11-8, 11-5) to complete the recovery.

Meanwhile, lower down the order, Jamaica represented by Christopher Marsh, Simon Tomlinson and Kane Watson finished in fifth place ahead of Puerto Rico’s José Navedo, Derek Torres and Axel Torres.

Next in line came Martinique’s Samuel Delepine, Laurent Lafitte and Christian Victorin followed by the Guadeloupe outfit of Steven Blot, Maxime Craignon and Noel Joseph Sainval.

2018 Caribbean Senior Championships: Results and Final Positions – Men’s Team (Monday 24th September)

2018 Caribbean Senior Championships: Results and Final Positions – Women’s Team (Monday 24th September)

Please follow and like us:
2018 Caribbean Senior Championships Emil Santos Samuel Galvez Isaac Vila