29 Jun 2018

Sweden’s Ana-Carin Ahlquist is very much the leading name amongst the list of players travelling from foreign shores to compete in the 2018 United States Para Open; for the host nation eyes focus very much on Tal Leibovitz.

A three day tournament play commences in Las Vegas on Thursday 28th June.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Manager

Most notably at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, Ana-Carin Ahlquist won Women’s Singles Class 3 gold, whilst also securing bronze with Ingela Lundback in Women’s Team Class 4-5.

Likewise Ingela Lundback, a Class 5 player, is named on the Las Vegas entry list.

Notably in their respective categories each has enjoyed major success at the European Para Championships. In the most recent four editions of the tournament, Ana-Carin Ahlquist has secured Women’s Singles Class 3 gold; moreover, it would appear that she is in good form, earlier this year she won in Slovenia.

Similarly, Ingela Lundback was crowned European champion in 2005, 2009 and 2011; whilst in harness with Ana-Carin Ahlquist they were silver medallists in Women’s Team Class 4-5 at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Additionally in the same event they were gold medallists at the European Para Championships in 2009 in Genoa and in 2015 in Vejle.

Gold medals at Paralympic Games and Continental Championships; it is the same for Tal Leibovitz.
Now over two decades ago, at the Atlantic 1996 Paralympic Games, he won Men’s Singles Class 7, prior to more recently being the man to set the example at the Para Pan American Games and Pan American Championships.

Competing in Class 8, at the Pan American Games, he won gold in 2007 in Rio de Janeiro before in Class 9 succeeding in four years later in Guadalajara and more recently in 2015 in Toronto. Similarly, at the Pan American Championships, also in Class 9, he won in Brasilia in 2003, Mar del Plata in 2005 and four years later in Margarita Island.

A total of 93 men and 21 women will compete in Las Vegas.

2018 United States Para Open: Results and Draws


Paralympics Para Table Tennis Anna-Carin Ahlquist