13 May 2018

Titles decided in the Men’s Singles events at the 2018 Slovenia Para Open in Lasko; familiar names emerged successful on Thursday 10th May, whether expected or not.

Germany’s Thomas Schmidberger, Turkey’s Abdullah Ozturk and Bulgaria’s Denislav Kodjabashev, alongside the Ukrainian duo of Viktor Didukh and Iuri Nozdrunov emerged the players to justify their top seed status.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Thomas Schmidberger won Class 3, Abdullah Ozturk secured the Class 4 title; similarly, Viktor Didukh prevailed in Class 8, the Class 9 gold medal adorned the neck of Iuri Nozdrunov. Likewise, Denislav Kodjabashev reserved the top step of the podium in Class 10.

Success as anticipated but there were those who upset the seeding. In the wheelchair categories, Hungary’s Endre Major, Poland’s Rafal Czuper and Serbia’s Mitar Palikuca emerged as somewhat unexpected winners. In the standing categories that honour was bestowed on Denmark’s Peter Rosenmeier, Egypt’s Mohamed Sayed and in Class 11 on the shoulders of Hungary Peter Palos.

In a hard fought contest Peter Palos won one of two finals that featured the most recent Paralympic Games gold medallists and resulted with the second seed beating the top seed.

The winner in London, Peter Palos overcame Belgium’s Florian Van Acker, the champion in Rio de Janeiro (11-8, 11-5, 8-11, 13-11). In Class 6, Peter Rosenmeier, the Rio winner accounted for Thailand’s Rungroj Thainiyom, the London victor (11-9, 8-11, 6-11, 11-6, 11-1).

Defeat at the final hurdle for one Rio gold medallist in the guise of Florian Van Acker; there was defeat for another; in Class 7 Great Britain’s Will Bayley was beaten in the title deciding contest by Egypt’s Mohamed Sayed (11-8, 11-4, 14-12).

Success for Peter Palos, there was further success for Hungary; Endre Major, the no.2 seed, won Class 1. He ended the hopes of Italy. In the final he beat Andrea Borgato (11-5, 11-6, 8-11, 5-11, 11-8), having accounted for Federico Falco one round earlier (11-3, 11-9, 11-6). Notably at the quarter-final stage, Federico Falco had beaten Great Britain’s Tom Matthews, the top seed (11-9, 12-10, 8-11, 11-8).

The top prize for the second seed, in Class 3 it was the top prize for the third seed. Poland’s Rafal Czuper emerged successful; at the final hurdle he beat Slovakia’s Martin Ludrovsky (11-9, 11-6, 13-11), the semi-final winner in opposition to Frenchman Fabien Lamirault, the top seed (11-9, 10-12, 7-11, 11-6, 11-6).

Impressive from Rafal Czuper, it was the same from Martin Palikuca; he clinched the Class 5 title beating Norway’s Tommy Urhaug in the final; top seed Valentin Baus had departed proceedings in the group qualification stage the previous day.

Attention now turns to the team events, play concludes on Saturday 12th May.

2018 Slovenia Para Open: Latest Results

Paralympics Para Table Tennis Thomas SCHMIDBERGER 2018 Thermana Lasko 15th Slovenia Para Open Abdullah Ozturk Denislav Kodjabashev