22 Dec 2017

Three German teams will compete in the quarter-finals stage of the 2017-2018 Men’s Champions League, including TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen following the club’s strong showing in the concluding round of group stage fixtures.

by Simon Daish

Jakub Dyjas led by example for Ochsenhausen on match day six, claiming victories in both of his encounters against Dominique Plattner (11-9, 5-11, 5-11, 10-12) and Robin Devos (5-11, 5-11, 10-12) as the German side secured a solid win away to SPG Walter Wels.

Topping Group C is French side Stella Sport La Romagne after the team of Wei Shihao, Chen Tian Yuan and Brice Ollivier successfully came out on top against TTC Ostrava 2016 with a 3-0 triumph over the Czech side.

FC Saarbrücken and TTSC UMMC are the two teams to progress from Group B, with the former of the clubs finishing at the summit of the group ahead of the Russian outfit with a slightly stronger head-to-head record.

Patrick Baum was pushed right down to the wire by Alexandre Robinot (5-11, 11-1, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9) at the start of Saarbrucken’s match against Chartres ASTT, but there were no such dramas for Bojan Tokic and Tiago Apolonia who cruised to comfortable victories over Romain Lorentz (11-2, 11-5, 11-5) and Vincent Picard (11-4, 11-8, 11-6).

The other Group B fixture took place in Sweden as Eslovs Ai Bordtennis hosted UMMC. Andrej Gacina impressed for the Russian team with positive results against Truls Moregard (8-11, 3-11, 11-8, 3-11) and Robert Svensson (11-9, 9-11, 11-7, 8-11, 8-11) while Maksim Kiselev also contributed a win in his encounter with Daniel Kosiba (11-13, 10-12, 7-11) as UMMC edged to a narrow away victory.

Elsewhere, Sporting Clube de Portugal ended its Group A campaign on a positive note with a Quadri Aruna brace leading to a 3-1 home win over defending champions TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg, while Borussia Düsseldorf proved successful on its travels to Denmark.

The eight teams that will compete in the quarter-finals are: TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg, Sporting Clube de Portugal, FC Saarbrucken, TTSC UMMC, Stella Sport La Romagne, TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen, Borussia Dusseldorf and Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61.

European Champions League: Results and Fixtures

2017-2018 ETTU Champions League Quadri Aruna Andrej Gacina Jakub Dyjas