02 Dec 2017

Home for a now well established ITTF World Junior Circuit tournament, the National Institute of Sport in San Salvador, the capital of the small Central American country of El Salvador, was the recent home for the sixth edition of the annual Nittaku Dream Building tournament.

Play commenced on Wednesday 29th November and concluded on Friday 1st December.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

A total of 17 Men’s Teams and eight Women’s Teams from the various provinces in the country competed in the three day event, a competition aimed at increasing participation in the sport and providing a meaningful activity.

Selecting from Eduardo Rivas, Gerberth Murcia, Arturo Gavarrete and Daniel Guardado, Aratao won the Men’s Team event beating Chalchuapa, represented by Jorge Rivera, José Rivera and Daniel Vicente in the final. Third place was secured by the Jacuapa outfit comprising Wilmer Parada, Josué Parada and Diego Lopez.

Success for Aratao; in the Men’s Team event, in the counterpart Women’s Team competition, it was the top prize for Segundo Montes in the guise of Estefany Vasquez and Diana Correas. They accounted for the Chalchuapa duo of Carolina Ortiz and Daniela Loarca in the final; third place finished in the hands of Atiquizaya pairing of Susana Carranza and Ferlin Martinez.

Furthermore, in the Women’s Singles event there was more success for Estefany Vasquez. She beat Susana Carranza, from Atiquizaya in the final (12-10, 11-8, 11-7); the bronze medallists were Diana Coreas and Carolina Ortiz of Chalchuapa

Meanwhile, in the Men’s Singles event it was gold for Ricardo Flores of El Transito, at the final hurdle he beat Arcatao’s Eduardo Rivas (11-6, 4-11, 11-7, 11-9). Bronze medals finished in the hands of Diego Lopez from Jucuapa and José Rivera representing Chalachuapa.

General News Nittaku Dream Building