28 Oct 2017

Proceedings underway at the 2017 India Junior and Cadet Open in Greater Noida on Saturday 28th October; a quiet start in the Junior Girls' Team event, not at all, there was an early surprise.

Representing India ‘B’, Yashini Sivasankar and Srushti Haleangadi accounted for the top seeded India ‘A’ partnership of Archana Girish Kamath and Moumita Dutta by three matches to one, a result that raised the eyebrows of the locals.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Archana Girish Kamath gave the top seeds the ideal start by overcoming Yashini Sivasankar (15-13, 12-10, 11-4) but that was to prove the sum total of her team’s success.

Moumita Dutta was beaten by Srushti Haleangadi (8-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-9) and by Yashini Sivanksankar (7-11, 1-11, 11-7, 12-10, 12-10), whilst sandwiched in between Moumita Dutta and Selena Selvakumar experienced a four games doubles defeat at the hands of Srushti Haleangadi and Prapti Sen (11-7, 11-6, 11-6, 11-4).

Defeat but it was to prove the only defeat of the day for the India ‘A’ outfit; second place in the group was the end result and progress to the semi-finals; Yashini Sivasankar and Srushti Haleangadi duly remained unbeaten to reserve first place.

An unexpected first place, not in the corresponding group; the combination of Thailand’s Jinnipa Sawettabut and Singapore’s Zhang Wanling, the second seeds, duly sealed first position. Runners up spot finished in the hands of the India ‘D’ formation of Ishita Gupta, Surbhi Patwari and Varuni Jaiswal.

Meanwhile, in the counterpart Cadet Girls’ Team event, likewise two groups in the initial stage with first and second places in each group gaining a penultimate round place, there was notable success for the host nation.

India ‘C’ selecting from Suhana Saini, Trisha Gogi and Vanshili Bhargava finished ahead of India ‘D’ represented by Kavya Sree Baskar, Radhapriya Goel and Cathrintina Arokia Dass. In the corresponding group the respective top two places were secured by India ‘A’ who selected from Munmun Kundou, Swastika Ghosh and Anush Kutumbale, alongside Korea’s Kim Jia, Heo Yeeun and Lee Dayeong secured second place.

Both the Junior Girls’ Team and Cadet Girls’ Team events will conclude on Sunday 29th October.


World Junior Circuit 2017 India Junior and Cadet Open Yashini Sivasankar Srushti Haleangadi

No results found.