10 Oct 2017

Team Rossi emerged as the most successful outfit in the fifth round of the T2 Asia-Pacific League staged from Wednesday 4th to Friday 6th October.

Represented by Paul Drinkhall, Liu Dingshuo and Dimitrij Ovtcharov with the female trio being Cheng I-Ching, Georgina Pota and Elizabeta Samara; impressive wins were recorded in each of the three contests played.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

On Wednesday 4th October a 20-12 win was posted against Team Persson represented by Mattias Karlsson, Jun Mizutani and Joo Saehyuk with Suthasini Sawettabut, Shi Xunyao and Bernadette Szocs completing the line-up.

The following day it was a 19-11 success in opposition Team Maze who fielded Timo Boll, Chen Chien-An and Alexander Shibaev alongside Feng Tianwei, Hina Hayata and Yang Haeun.

Two wins, matters concluded with a third on Friday 6th October; a 19-9 margin of victory was posted in opposition to Team JJ represented by Chuang Chih-Yuan, Tomokazu Harimoto and Vladimir Samsonov who joined forces with Matilda Ekholm, Jeon Jihee and Liu Fei.

Star of show was Cheng I-Ching, each match 24 minutes, each game to 11 points, she won all three; she beat Suthasini Sawettabut (5-0), Hina Hayata (4-1) and Jeon Jihee (3-1).

Meanwhile, Elizabeta Samara remained unbeaten, she accounted for Bernadette Szocs (4-2) and Yang Haeun (3-2), prior to finishing level with Matilda Ekholm (2-2). Similarly Dimitrij Ovtcharov defeated Joo Saehyuk (4-1) and Chen Chien-An (3-2), prior to sharing honours with Vladimir Samsonov (3-3). Somewhat, conversely, Paul Drinkhall commenced proceedings by gaining equality with Jun Mizutani (3-3), before beating Alexander Shibaev (4-1) and Chuang Chih-Yuan (4-1).

Three wins in round five for Team Rossi, for Team Persson it was the complete reverse scenario. After suffering defeat at the hands of Team Rossi, it was a 16-13 reverse when facing Team JJ and a similar disappointment when opposing Team Maze, a 15-13 loss was the result.

Success for Team Maze in the concluding fifth round fixture, it was the same in the opening contest; a 17-12 win was recorded in opposition to Team JJ.

Based on games won Dimitrij Ovtcharov (44 games), Timo Boll (41 games) and Vladimir Samsonov (39 games) are the leading male players; the principal female players are Liu Fei (45 games), Shi Xunyao (44 games) and Cheng I-Ching (41 games).

The next series of fixtures is scheduled for Wednesday 1st to Saturday 4th November and is the concluding series prior to the Grand Finals to be held from Thursday 7th to Saturday 9th December.

T2 Asia-Pacific League: Round Five & Full Details

T2 Asia-Pacific League Team Rossi