30 Aug 2017

Somewhat surprise winners in the initial phase of proceedings in Men’s Class Team Class 5 in opposition to the Korean top seeded outfit of Kim Kiyoung, Kim Kyungyoung and Park Jaehyeon; the host nation trio formed by Cao Ningning, Liu Fu and Zhan Dashun repeated the performance one day later to capture the Men’s Team Class 5 title.

A two matches to nil verdict had been the outcome in the group stage; it was exactly the same in the final on Wednesday 30th August; in fact the Chinese selection secured the title with surrendering one individual match.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Furthermore, it meant a second title for Zhan Dashun, who two days earlier had beaten Cao Ningning in the Men’s Singles Class 5 final.

Team medals to add to medals secured in the individual events, it was the same in all the Men’s wheelchair categories as China and Korea shared the honours.

Joo Youngdae and Park Jin Cheol, the respective Men’s Singles Class 1 and Men’s Singles Class 2 winners joined forces with Cha Soonyong to win Men’s Team Class 1-2. Likewise, Kim Younggun and Kim Junggil secured success for Korea; they allied with Lee Kyeonghun to claim gold in Men’s Team Class 4. Two days earlier, Kim Younggun had won the Men’s Class 4 title beating Kim Junggil in the final.

Two titles for Korea, it was the same for China; in addition to Cao Ningning, Liu Fu and Zhan Dashun; the formation of Feng Panfeng, Zhao Ping and Zhai Xiang secured the top prize in Men’s Team Class 3 and thus repeated their efforts of just over one year ago. At the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, the same trio had enjoyed the same success in the same event.

Earlier, in Men’s Singles Class 5, Feng Panfeng had beaten Zhai Xiang in the semi-finals and Zhao Ping in the final; furthermore in the Team event not one individual match was lost, such was their quality.

2017 Asian Para Championships: Future Matches and Results

Paralympics Para Table Tennis 2017 Asian Para Championships