27 Jun 2017

The inaugural season of the T2 Asia-Pacific League (T2 APAC) is almost upon us, and excitement levels continue to grow as the player selections for the four teams have finally been shown off.

by Simon Daish

Team JJ, led by former double World champion Jiang Jialiang, includes the vastly experienced Vladimir Samsonov and the superstar teenage talent of Tomokazu Harimoto.

The other players selected for the team are Chuang Chih-Yuan, Wu Yang, Jeon Jihee and Matilda Ekholm.

Captain Michael Maze, who was extremely well known for his incredible defensive masterclasses during his playing career, is hoping to delight table tennis fans again with his strong squad for the competition which stars Timo Boll and Feng Tianwei as the two headline acts.

Team Maze’s strength doesn’t stop there as Chen Chien-An, Alexander Shibaev, Yang Haeun and Hina Hayata also make the lineup.

Former Olympic silver medallist and current coach of Germany’s men’s team Jörg Rosskopf will captain Team Rossi, with German star Dimitrij Ovtcharov playing under his leadership.

The squad also consists of former European Women’s Singles champion Elizabeta Samara, with Cheng I-Ching and Georgina Pota taking the two remaining female positions in the team. Shang Kun and Paul Drinkhall claim the remaining spots for male players.

Finally there is Team Persson which is being captained by Swedish table tennis legend Jörgen Persson.

World champion Ding Ning is joined by fellow stars of the women’s game Bernadette Szőcs and Suthasini Sawettabut, while Jun Mizutani, Joo Saehyuk and Mattias Karlsson have also been selected for the side.

The T2 APAC promises to deliver exciting action via a unique set of rules including a 24-minute time limit on each match and a league structure consisting of men’s, women’s and mixed team championships.

Which side has your backing? Are you #TeamJJ #TeamMaze #Team Rossi or #TeamPersson?

General News Ding Ning Timo Boll Dimitrij Ovtcharov Tomokazu Harimoto Vladimir Samsonov Hina Hayata Jun Mizutani Bernadette Szocs Feng Tianwei Cheng I-Ching Georgina Pota Matilda Ekholm Elizabeta Samara Jeon Jihee Paul Drinkhall Yang Haeun Chuang Chih-Yuan Mattias Karlsson Chen Chien-An Wu Yang Suthasini Sawettabut Shang Kun Joo Saehyuk Alexander Shibaev