31 May 2017

Germany’s Thomas Weikert has been elected President of the International Table Tennis Federation.

At the Annual General Meeting staged in Düsseldorf on Wednesday 31st May, he received 118 votes as opposed to his rival for office, Belgium’s Jean-Michel Saive, who polled 90 votes. The term of office is for a period of four years.


Formerly the Deputy President, Thomas Weikert became President in 2014 when Adham Sharara, who had held the office since 1999, assumed the role of Chair and Honorary President of the International Table Tennis Federation.

“I would like to thank my team for all the support they have given me since becoming President. Thank you to all the national associations for their confidence in me to continue as President. I promise to keep giving my best to push the sport to new heights and achieve all my goals stated in my manifesto.” Thomas Weikert

The 55-year-old German will be joined on the ITTF Executive Committee by:  Shi Zhihao (China), Petra Sörling (Sweden), Masahiro Maehara (Japan), Nestor Tenca (Argentina), Bruce Burton (Canada), James Morris (New Zealand), Alaa Meshref (Egypt) and Khalil Al-Mohannadi (Qatar).

Further decisions passed at the Annual General Meeting will be released shortly.

Liebherr 2017 World Championships Thomas Weikert Jean-Michel Saive

No results found.