04 May 2017

Four places available in the main draw of the Under 21 Men’s Singles event at the Seamaster 2017 ITTF Challenge Series Brazil Open in São Paulo; at the conclusion of play on Thursday 4th May, the decision was made.

The host nation’s Massao Kohatsu, Eduardo Tomoike, Luiz Anjos and Guilherme Teodoro had reserved places.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

In an all Brazilian qualification competition, Massao Kohatsu completed his group phase matches unbeaten by overcoming Rafael Torino (11-1, 11-8, 11-9).

Likewise, Luiz Anjos overcame Sergio Bignardi (11-4, 11-6, 8-11, 11-4); whilst in a closer contest Guilherme Teodoro defeated Gustavo Kodama (9-11, 11-8, 11-7, 8-11, 11-9).

Clear cut decisions but the first place gained by Eduardo Tomoike was more complicated. He was beaten in four games by Vitor Santos (11-9, 11-9, 6-11, 11-5).

However, the previous day by similar margins Vitor Santos had lost to Gustavo Yokota (8-11, 11-7, 11-4, 11-5) who in turn had experienced defeat at the hands of Eduardo Tomoike (11-8, 11-8, 10-12, 11-4).

Thus each player had won one match and each match had been decided in four games; points ratio determined the final order. It was first place for Eduardo Tomoike (77:71), with Gustavo Yokota in second spot (73:70) and Vitor Santos third (66:85).

Similarly proceedings concluded in the group stage of the Under 21 Women’s Singles event, again an all Brazilian affair.

Vitoria Ucima beat Daniela Yano (11-6, 11-6, 4-11, 6-11, 11-8) to secure second place in her group behind Bruna Takahashi.

Meanwhile, in the two remaining groups Martina Kohatsu finished in first place ahead of Giulia Takahashi, Luana Katsumata and Brenda Amaral; whilst Livia Lima remained unbeaten to secure top spot in her group. Beatriz Kimoto finished in second place with Fernanda Kodama third and Tamyres Fukase fourth.

Players finishing in first and second places in each group plus two “Lucky Losers” drawn at random from the third placed places advanced to the quarter-finals.

Daniela Yana and Fernando Kodama gained the “Lucky Loser” places.



2017 Seamaster Brazil Open Guilherme Teodoro Livia Lima Eduardo Tomoike Massao Kohatsu Martina Kohatsu Vitoria Ucima Luis Anjos

No results found.