12 Apr 2017

Staged in the Australian city of Bendigo, one year ago the host nation’s Barak Mizrachi, Lisa di Torro and Melissa Tapper, secured gold in their respective classes.

At the forthcoming Oceania Para Championships which commence on Thursday 13th April, all three are named in the entry list.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

In Bendigo, Barak Mizrachi, a Class 8 player, won Men’s Singles Class 6-10, the silver medal went to colleague Joel Coughlan with Trevor Hirth, also from Australia and New Zealand’s Victor Kamizona, being the bronze medallists.

Victor Kamizona, like Barak Mizrachi, a Class 8 player, appears on the Suva entry list as does Trevor Hirth, a Class 6 athlete.

Similarly, Lisa di Torro who won Women’s Singles Class 3-5 in Bendigo is again on duty as, on home soil, is Fiji’s Merewalesi Roden, the runner up. Lisa di Torro is Class 4, Merewalesi Roden is Class 5.

Meanwhile, the names of Melissa Tapper and Andrea McDonnell, the pair beaten in the bronze medal contest in Women’s Team Class 6-10 at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, appear on the entry list.

Both Class 10 players, in Bendigo, Melissa Tapper won gold in Class 6-10 with Andrea McDonnell being the silver medallist.

The one champion from last year who is not named on the Suva listing is Australia’s Mark Harris; he won Men’s Singles Class 3-5. However, New Zealand’s James Goulding, the runner up, will be in action.

A total of 53 players, 37 men and 16 women will compete in Suva; additional to Fiji, the associations represented are Australia, Guam, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

2017 Oceania Para Championships: List of Entries



Paralympics Para Table Tennis Oceania