11 Apr 2017

An agonising defeat the previous day at the quarter-final stage of the Men’s Team event at the Seamaster 2017 ITTF-Asian Championships in Wuxi when losing to Japan; one day later, there was a degree of consolation for India.

Just as they had been beaten in a full distance five match contest by Japan; on Tuesday 11th April they accounted for DPR Korea to secure the Division One title.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Mainstay of the success was Harmeet Desai; he beat Pak Sin Hyok (11-5, 11-`3, 11-8, 6-11, 11-5) and in the vital fifth and concluding contest Choe Il (11-7, 11-5, 11-9)/

The one further Indian win was secured by Soumyajit Ghosh, in the opening match of the engagement; he defeated Choe Il (11-6, 11-9, 12-10). The wins for DPR Korea were recorded in the third match when Kang Wi Hun defeated Sathiyan Gnanasekaran (11-7, 11-9, 11-9) and in the immediately ensuing contest when Pak Sin Hyok overcame Soumyajit Ghosh (12-10, 6-11, 11-6, 8-11, 11-9).

Meanwhile in the Women’s Team event, the Division One title was secured by Chinese Taipei; a three-nil margin of victory was recorded against Singapore.

Liu Hsing-Yin beat Zhang Wanling to give Chinese Taipei the ideal start (11-8, 11-5, 11-8). Cheng Hsien-Tzu doubled the advantage by beating Eunice Lim before Chen Szu-Yu accounted for Tan En Hui to end matters (11-7, 11-4, 11-6).

The First Division title is the decided by the contest between the two teams who emerged successful in the qualification tournament and thus gained places in the main draw, the Championship Division, alongside the top six teams.

Seamaster 2017 Asian Championships Singapore India Chinese Taipei DPR Korea

No results found.