11 Dec 2016

Brazil emerged as the most successful country on duty as the team events brought matters to a conclusion at the Copa Costa Rica in San José on Saturday 10th December.

Five Men’s Team titles on offer, all organised on a group all-play-all basis; three finished in Brazilian hands, the remaining two being secured by Chile.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

The surprise Brazilian partnership was that formed by Hemerson Kovalski, Jean Carlos de Oliveira and Bruno de Paula, the second seeds, they captured the Class 1-3 title. They finished in first place ahead of the Costa Rica partnership formed by Geovanni Rodriguez and Erik Nuñez, the top seeds.

Meanwhile, the other two Brazilian successes were as status suggested, the top seeded place being justified with the second seeds finishing in runners up spot.

In Class 4-5, Eziquiel Babes, Alexandre Macieira Ank and Ecildo Lopez de Oliveira finished in top spot with the combination of Brazil’s Renato Santos in harness with Dennis La Rosa of Trinidad and Tobago, the next in line.

Likewise, in Class 6-8, Nilson da Silva Oliveira and Luiz Medina flew the flag for Brazil; they finished ahead of the combination comprising Chile’s Matias Pino and Alexon Chilis Piccolin, also from Brazil.

Success for Brazil and there was success for Chile, somewhat against expectations; in both occasions it was success for the second seeds.

Competing in Class 9, Manuel Echaveguren and Valentin Letelier secured the title with the top seeded duo of Japan’s Nobuyuki Suzuki and Chile’s Sebastian Diaz in runners up spot.

The top prize for Manuel Echaveguren and Valentin Letelier, in Class 10 it was the top prize for their colleagues Alvaro Vega and Jaime Jara. Second place went to the Brazil second team of Alexandre Pereira, William Almeida and Ricardo Narusawa, the no.4 seeds, with the Brazilian top team of Claudio Massad and Basilo Pereira having to settle for third spot.

Play concluded in Costa Rica, the next stop on the Para calendar is Las Vegas; the three day United States Para Open commences on Wednesday 14th December.

2016 Copa Costa Rica: Results – Individual Events

2016 Copa Costa Rica: Results – Team Events

Paralympics Para Table Tennis Copa Costa Rica Nilson da Silva Oliveira Luis Medina