08 Dec 2016

The 2016 ITTF Star Awards will be held at Doha, Qatar on 8th December, 2016 at 7:30pm AST (Arabic Time Zone) or 4:30pm GMT. You can watch the event LIVE on ITTF's exclusive online channel tv.ittf.com or on ITTF's Facebook page @ITTFWorld.

By Neha Aggarwal

The most glamorous night in the sport of table tennis is here: The ITTF Star Awards.

The night will be a toast to celebrate the success of the best of the best in the sport of table tennis. The awards night wil be held at Sheraton Hotel, Doha, Qatar.

Fans around the world can watch the show LIVE on ITTF’s exclusive online channel tv.ittf.com  or ITTF’s Facebook page  at 7:30pm AST or 4:30pm GMT.

All nominated athletes, as well as those who will be participating in the ITTF World Tour Grand Finals will be present. Additionally, the officials from the ITTF family and our beloved sponsors will all attend this enchanting night.

Our sponsors who have contributed to this event are: Seamaster, Butterfly, Nittaku, Stag, Double Happiness, Tinsue, Monday Club and World Sport Design.

Fans were invited to vote for their favorite players via online voting. The decision that has been made is based 50% on the votes by the fans and 50% on the decision of the expert panel. There are seven categories and the nominees are:

2016 Male Table Tennis Star

  • Aruna Quadri (NGR)
  • Fan Zhendong (CHN)
  • Ma Long (CHN)
  • Jun Mizutani (JPN)

2016 Female Table Tennis Star

  • Ding Ning (CHN)
  • Miu Hirano (JPN)
  • Mima Ito (JPN)
  • Kim Song-I (PRK)

Star Table Tennis Point of 2016

  • Ding Ning vs Hina Hayata
  • Fan Zhendong vs Simon Gauzy
  • Yang Haeun vs Hu Limei
  • Jun Mizutani vs Tiago Apolonia
  • Samuel Walker vs Yuya Oshima

2016 Star Coach

  • Patrick Chila (FRA)
  • Alan Cooke (ENG)
  • Liu Guoliang (CHN)

2016 Breakthrough Star

  • Tomokazu Harimoto (JPN)
  • Miu Hirano (JPN)
  • Team England

2016 Male Para Table Tennis Star

  • Laurens Devos (BEL)
  • Feng Panfeng (CHN)
  • Peter Rosenmeier (DEN)

2016 Female Para Table Tennis Star

  • Liu Jing (CHN)
  • Sandra Paovic (CRO)
  • Xue Juan (CHN)

So what are you waiting for? Mark your calendar, so that you do not miss this epic night!

..and for more information about the Star Awards check out this website: www.ittfstarawards.com


ITTF Star Awards ma long Fan Zhendong Ding Ning Mima Ito Miu Hirano Jun Mizutani Kim Song I

2019 ITTF Star Awards