12 Oct 2016

Staged in the Patio da Gale in Lisbon Portugal on the evening of Wednesday 9th December, Kosovo’s Linor Citaku and Vlona Maloku received the Fair Play presentation at the Star Awards Evening. Now, the quest is find the winner for this year; the 2016 Star Awards Evening will be held in Doha, Qatar immediately prior to the ITTF World Tour Grand Finals which are scheduled to commence on Thursday 8th December.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Linor Citaku and Vlona Maloku received the acclamation as a result of their gesture at on the first day of the Qoros 2015 World Championships.

Kenya’s Harshill Shah and Sejal Thakkar, their opponents, failed the racket test and did not have spare rackets. It meant they had to forfeit the match.

Immediately, Linor Citaku and Vlona Maloku lent their opponents their spare rackets so the match could proceed.

An example to follow and no doubt this year there have been gestures of sportsmanship; do you know of any such similar examples?

The Umpires and Referees Committee of the International Table Tennis Federation is the nominating body, with a panel consisting of the ITTF President and two members of the Athletes’ Commission selecting the winner.

However, anyone can make a proposal.

The closing day for nominations is Friday 15th October.

Star Awards: Vote here for 2016 ITTF Fair Play Award

General News Athletes Commission