14 Sep 2016

Success had not been plentiful for the continent of Africa in the individual events at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

However, on day seven, Wednesday 14th September, there was better news; in Men’s Team Class 4-5 both Egypt and Nigeria enjoyed success.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Both recorded two matches to one victories in their opening round contests.

Hassaan Tolba

Man of the moment for Egypt was Hassaan Tolba; in the contest against Spain he joined forces with Sameh Saleh to record a doubles success against Bilal El Baqqali Talibi and Miguel Rodrigues (11-5, 11-5, 9-11, 11-5), before overcoming Miguel Rodrigues (11-7, 11-8, 11-7) to bring matters to a conclusion.

The one win for Spain was recorded by Bilal El Baqqali Talibi; in the second match of the fixture, he accounted for Sameh Saleh (4-11, 11-4, 11-4, 11-8).

Emmanuel Nick

Meanwhile, for Nigeria, the star of the show was Emmanuel Nick.

Confronting the Polish partnership of Rafal Lis and Krzysztof Zylka, he partnered Ahmed Koleosho to doubles success (11-5, 11-8, 11-7), before in the third match of the fixture concluding proceedings by defeating Krzysztof Zylka (12-14, 11-8, 11-2, 11-7).

Similar to the Egyptian success; the one reverse for Nigeria accrued in the second match of the engagement. Ahmed Koleosho experienced defeat when facing Rafal Lis (6-11, 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 11-4).

Higher ranked

“It was a difficult match, they are ranked higher than us in the team event and the players are top class players”, said Ahmed Koleosho. “We basically did what our coach advised us and we prepared well for the game.”

Success and the Nigerians were clearly delighted with the win; equally they were more than pleased with the whole ambiance of the occasion.

“It’s been great for us, and we really enjoy it”, stressed Emmanuel Nick.

Wins for Chinese Taipei and Germany

Success in the opening round of Men’s Team Class 4-5 for Egypt and Nigeria; there was also success for Germany and Chinese Taipei; both outfits recorded two matches to nil wins.

Valentin Baus and Jan Guertler flew the flag for Germany; they overcame the Serbian duo of Mitar Palikuca and Goran Perlic.

Similarly, Cheng Ming-Chih and LinYen-Hsing represented Chinese Taipei with honour; they overcame Argentina’s Gabriel Copola and Mauricio Depergola.