27 Sep 2021

Team competitions commence play at the 2021 ITTF-ATTU Asian Championships in Doha on Tuesday 28th September.

Proceedings follow the same principle at two years ago in the Indonesian city of Yogyakarta.

by Ian Marshall

In each of the men’s team and women’s team events, there are two divisions, the Championship Division and the First Division.

Teams in the First Division compete initially on a group basis, teams finishing in first positions in each group advance to a progressive knock-out stage; the finalists join the six seeded teams in the Championship Division.

The top six teams from Yogyakarta gain direct entry to the Championship Division; in the Indonesian city those teams were as follows:

  • Men: China, Korea Republic, Japan, Chinese Taipei, India, Hong Kong
  • Women: China, Japan, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, Thailand

However, China and DPR Korea do not compete in Doha.

Thus, the seventh place team in Yogyakarta, Iran, gains direct entry to the Men’s Championship Division; in the women’s event the seventh and eighth placed teams advance directly. The teams in question are Korea Republic and Hong Kong.

Therefore, the six direct entries are:

  • Men: Korea Republic, Japan, Chinese Taipei, India, Kong Kong and Iran
  • Women: Japan, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, Thailand, Korea Republic and Hong Kong

The quarter-final draw is as follows:


  • Korea Republic v Hong Kong
  • Iran v India
  • Japan v Division One Qualifier
  • Chinese Taipei v Division One Qualifier


  • Japan v Division One Qualifier
  • Hong Kong v Chinese Taipei
  • Thailand v Korea Republic
  • Singapore v Division One Qualifier

Play in the team events concludes on Friday 1st October





General News 2021 ITTF-ATTU Asian Championships 2021 ITTF-ATTU Asian Championships

No results found.