15 Mar 2018

Winners two years ago when the tournament was staged in Bendigo, the host nation’s Yan Xin and Jian Fang Lay defend their respective Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles titles at the forthcoming 2018 Oceania Championships.

Staged in Gold Coast, the city which will host this year’s Commonwealth Games, play commences on Thursday 15th March and concludes on Monday 19th March.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Manager

Jian Fang Lay is the top seed in the Women’s Singles event, having also won the title in 2002 in Suva and in 2014 when the tournament was also staged in Bendigo.

Next in the order of merit is Miao Miao and like Jian Fang Lay a previous winner; she succeed in Whangerei in 2004 and in Papete in 2008. Melissa Tapper, Feng Chunyi and Michelle Bromley occupy the immediate ensuing position, as Australia occupies the top five places.

Vanuatu’s Priscilla Tommy is the no.6 seed with Fijiian sisters Graci Rosi Yee and Sally Yee completing the top eight names.

Meanwhile, in the Men’s Singles event, yet to win the Oceania title, Heming Hu is the top seed, ahead of Yan Xin, as with their female counterparts, Australia is predominant reserving the top four names. Kane Townsend is next in the pecking order followed by David Powell.

Yoshua Shing, like Priscilla Tommy from Vanuatu, is next in the ranked order with New Zealand’s Dean Shu and Matthew Ball being the respective no.6 and no.7 seeds; Papua New Guinea’s Geoffrey Loi is the no.8 seed.

Logic suggests that the medallists will accrue from the highly seeded players but of course that does not always happen. No current world ranking but note the name of Australia’s Trent Carter, alongside Yan Xin, he is the only previous Men’s Singles winner on duty. He won in 2008 in Papete.

Play commences with the Men’s Team, Women’s Team, Under 21 Men’s Team and Under 21 Women’s Team events.

2018 Oceania Championships Jian Fang Lay Yan Xin

No results found.

Photo Gallery

Day 4 - 2018  ITTF-Oceania Championships