09 Aug 2017

Staged in the city of Lagos, the 2017 ITTF Challenge Seamaster Nigeria Open, including qualification, to be held from Wednesday 9th to Sunday 13th August, has attracted the biggest entry in the history of the tournament since joining the ITTF World Tour in 2014.

No less than 148 players, comprising 95 men and 53 women, representing 22 national associations had submitted entries prior to the deadline date of Monday 10th July.

by Olalekan Okusan, ITTF-Africa Press Officer

A total prize fund of US$46,000, the venue for proceedings is the Molade Okoya-Thomas Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium.

The names of Finland’s Benedek Olah and Portugal’s Shao Jieni, the respective Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles winners one year ago appear on the entry list as do several other notable names.

Nigeria’s Quadri Aruna, Egypt’s Omar Assar and Qatar’s Li Ping are listed in the Men’s Singles entry, as on the counterpart Women’s Singles order are those of Hungary’s Szandra Pergel, Egypt’s Dina Meshref and Russia’s Olga Kulikova.

Notably, ten European countries will participate. In addition to Hungary, Finland, Portugal and Russia; Bulgaria, France, Italy, Romania, Scotland and Ukraine will compete.

Meanwhile from Africa, alongside the host nation and Egypt; Algeria, Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Ghana, Ivory Coast and South Africa will be represented, as will Asia with players from India, Korea and Korea being on duty. Meanwhile, for Latin America, Argentina flies the flag.

Furthermore, as a legacy of the tournament, the local organising committee offers two media internships for interested undergraduates who are attending Nigerian tertiary institutions.

Challenge Series 2017 ITTF Challenge Lagos (Nigeria) 2017 Nigeria Open Benedek Olah Shao Jieni

No results found.

Photo Gallery

Day 3 - 2017 ITTF Challenge Seamaster Nigeria Open

Match Highlights