12 Apr 2017

A most creditable 19th place was the order of proceedings for the Sri Lanka in the Women’s Team event at the Seamaster 2017 ITTF-Asian Championships in the Chinese city of Wuxi.

The squad of Ishara Madurangi, Hansar Kapugeekyana, Erandi Warusawithana, Nuw Vithange and Bandana Rajaguria could be proud of their efforts.

by Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Meanwhile, in the Men’s Team event it was 21st place; a worthy effort from the squad comprising Imesh Ramasingha, Milinda Lakshitha, Chalita Ranjana, Nirma Jayasinghe and Rohan Siisena.

At the same time as the senior players were demonstrating their skills, at the St Thomas Indoor Stadium in Mount Lavina, a new generation was making strides. On Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th April, the Andro Western Province Ranking tournament was being staged.

Award winners with (back row left to right) Wajira Wickramasinghe, Linda Tepper, Glenn Tepper and Chandana Perera (Photo: courtesy of Glenn Tepper)


Notably, the awards were presented by Glenn Tepper, ITTF Deputy Chief Executive Officer.

Additionally he took the opportunity to meet Chandana Perera, former President of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka (TTASL), currently a member the National Olympic Committee Executive and President of Western Province. Similarly, he met the newly elected TTASL President, Kanaka Herath, who is also a member of parliament, in addition to Wajira Wickramasinghe, ITTF Level Three Coach and Course Conductor.

Glenn Tepper (right) held fruitful meetings with Chandana Perera (left) and (centre) Maxwell da Silva (Photo: courtesy of Glenn Tepper)


Fruitful discussions were also held with Maxwell De Silva, Secretary-General of the National Olympic Committee, and a US$30,000 Developing a National Sports Structure Course funded by Olympic Solidarity, jointly led by Richard McAfee and Arif Khan, was agreed.

A busy time, particularly that this was his supposed holidays, Glenn Tepper also attended the Southern Province Junior Championships alongside Chathura Dushan, like Wajira Wickramasinghe an ITTF Level Three coach, as well as visiting a Table Tennis Academy in Kandy owned by Jagath Rajapaksa and meeting Anuradha Jayarathne, President of the Kandy Table Tennis Association Executive, and a government minister.

Jagath Rajapaska (left) owner of a table tennis academy with (right) Glenn Tepper (Photo: courtesy of Glenn Tepper)
Andro Western Province Ranking tournament

Under 8 Boys’ Singles 
Muhammed Ihsaan Faleel (Wesley College, Colombo) bt Akil Lakdiv (Royal College Colombo) 9-11, 11-5, 11-7

Under 8 Girls’ Singles
Mekalya Fernando (Musaeus College, Colombo) bt Sasini Nuwanma (Sumedha College, Gampaha) 11-5, 11-8

Under 10 Boys’ Singles
Kakeru Hennayake (Ananda College, Colombo) bt Dewmeth Weerasena (Lyceum International School Nugegoda) 11-6, 13-11

Under 10 Girls’ Singles
Fathmath Dheema Ali (Royal Institute Colombo) bt Sithmi Seya (Musaeus College, Colombo) 11-5, 11-9

Under 12 Boys Singles
Senura Silva (Ananda College, Colombo) bt Danuk Lamasuriya (Ananda College, Colombo) 11-5, 11-5, 11-5

Under 12 Girls’ Singles
Fathmath Dheema Ali (Royal Institute Colombo) bt Oneli Lehansa (Musaeus College, Colombo) 11-6, 13-11, 11-8

Under 15 Boys’ Singles
Senura Silva (Ananda College, Colombo) bt Thisas Ranchagoda (Royal College, Colombo) 13-11, 11-13, 16- 14, 13-11

Under 15 Girls’ Singles
Sanaya Buddhadasa (Visakha Vidyalaya Colombo) beat Amadhi Seya (Musaeus College, Colombo) 11-9, 11-6, 11-7

Under 18 Boys’ Singles
Thisas Ranchagoda (Royal College, Colombo) bt Helika Adikary (Royal College, Colombo) 11-5, 11-6, 11-7

Under 18 Girls’ Singles
Nethmi Hettiarachchi (Holy Cross College, Gampaha) bt Tharindi Thamasha (Viharamahadevi BMV, Kiribathgoda) 6-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-4

Play in the Southern Province Junior Championships (Photo: courtesy of Glenn Tepper)
Please follow and like us:
General News Seamaster 2017 Asian Championships Sri Lanka

No results found.