13 Feb 2019

The International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) is excited to confirm the 12 cities that will host the 2020 ITTF World Tour events.

More prize money, greater fan engagement and a better TV spectacle for a worldwide audience: the 2020 ITTF World Tour is set to be the biggest in the history of Table Tennis.

The successful two-tier system, consisting of six ITTF World Tour Platinum and six regular ITTF World Tour events, remains for next year’s keenly awaited 2020 ITTF World Tour.

As before, the six ITTF World Tour Platinum events offer more prize money and a higher level of organisation, which will ensure the attendance of the world’s best players, resulting in more international exposure for the hosts.

Better than ever for host cities, players, fans & partners!

“The 2020 ITTF World Tour will be the last run under the current commercial rights. We hope that this will be a great year, before exploring ways how we can make the World Tour even better and more professional, starting from 2021 onwards with some fresh ideas.

“2020 finds us with known World Tour hosts and aiming for a further increase in prize money, hopefully improved conditions for players and a more eye-catching, attractive product for worldwide fans and partners.”

Vicky Eleftheriade, ITTF Competition Director

2020 ITTF World Tour: Event Schedule

Here is confirmation of the host cities and the dates of all 12 events scheduled for the 2020 ITTF World Tour:

World Tour Platinum:

German Open, City TBA – Tuesday 28 Jan to Sunday 2 Feb 2020

Qatar Open, Doha – Tuesday 3 Mar to Sunday 8 Mar 2020

Japan Open, Kitakyushu – Tuesday 21 Apr to Sunday 26 Apr 2020

China Open, Shenzhen – Tuesday 12 May to Sunday 17 May 2020

Australian Open, Geelong – Tuesday 23 Jun to Sunday 28 Jun 2020

Austrian Open, Linz – Tuesday 10 Nov to Sunday 15 Nov 2020

World Tour:

Hungarian Open, Budapest – Tuesday 18 Feb to Sunday 23 Feb 2020

Hong Kong Open, Hong Kong – Tuesday 5 May to Sunday 10 May 2020

Korea Open, City TBA – Tuesday 16 Jun to Sunday 21 Jun 2020

Czech Open, Olomouc – Tuesday 25 Aug to 30 Aug 2020

Bulgaria Open, Panagyurishte – Tuesday 1 Sep to Sunday 6 Sep 2020

Swedish Open, Stockholm – Tuesday 3 Nov to Sunday 8 Nov 2020

Road to Tokyo 2020

The 2020 ITTF World Tour will play a significant role in the lead up to the Olympic Games being held the same year in Tokyo, Japan.

The World Ranking points gained by players on the 2020 ITTF World Tour events, taking place until May, will have an impact on the seeding for the Olympic Games, and furthermore up to five Mixed Doubles pairs will be qualifying directly from a few of the World Tour events, taking place until April. Further details on the latter to follow.

…and watch out for the World Tour Grand Finals!

The 12 events all offer World Tour Standings points, which will be used to determine the top 16 men’s and women’s players who will qualify for the ITTF World Tour Grand Finals in December 2020.

The USD $1 million host for the 2020 ITTF World Tour Grand Finals will be announced shortly.

Please follow and like us:
error
World Tour Press Releases Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games World Tour Grand Finals