ITTF Front       Home Page        Back  

Venezuelan Girls Survive Close Call as Medal Favourites Emerge Unbeaten
By: Ian Marshall, ITTF Publications Editor

Gremlis Arvelo tested when Venezuela met Brazil  Photo By: Carlos Duarte

07/18/2012        2012 Mexico Junior & Cadet Open - ITTF Junior Circuit (Click here to access this section)

Matters went as per programme in the first stage of proceedings in both the Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ Team events at the Mexico Junior and Cadet Open in Puebla on Tuesday 17th July 2012, the first day of action in the five day event.

Favourites for medals all finished unbeaten in top place of their groups with Venezuela, the third seeds in the Junior Girls’ Team competition being the one outfit, amongst the top four, to experience difficulties.

The partnership of Gremlis Arvelo and Winberly Montero emerged successful but they experienced strong resistance from the Brazilian team formed by Karina Hayama and Martina Kohatsu.

Different Story
Gremlis Arvelo and Winberly Montero started proceedings by posting a three-nil win over the Guatemala ‘B’ Team formed by Caterine Agustin and Andrea Montufar.

However, in the concluding group contest it was a much different story with Karina Hayama being the player to cause the Venezuelans heartaches. She beat Winberly Montero (11-6, 5-11, 11-9, 11-7) and Gremlis Arvelo (12-10, 11-4, 12-10) but that proved to be Brazil’s only triumphs.

Martina Kohatsu was beaten by Gremlis Arvelo (11-6, 11-3, 11-7) and by Winberly Montero (11-4, 10-12, 11-6, 11-5); whilst with Karina Hayama she suffered defeat in the doubles against Gremlis Arvelo and Winberly Montero (11-2, 11-7, 11-7).

However, there was consolation for the Brazilians; one fixture earlier they had beaten Guatemala ‘B’ by three matches to one. Thus they secured second place in the group and a place in the main draw.

Mainstay of the Brazilian victory was Karina Hayama; she accounted for Caterine Agustin (11-5, 11-5, 12-10) and Andrea Montufar (11-4, 11-8, 11-7), whilst teaming with Martina Kohatsu to win the doubles against Karina Hayama and Martina Kohatsu (11-2, 11-7, 11-7).

First Place
Otherwise, none of the leading teams was challenged.

In the Junior Girls’ Team event, top seeds Puerto Rico ‘A’ with Carelyn Cordero and Melanie Diaz on duty finished in first place in their group as did the second seeded combination of the Dominican Republic’s Eva Brito and Uruguay’s Maria-Pia Lorenzotti.

Similarly, it was first place in the group for the Guatemala ‘A’ Team partnership of Mabelyn Enriquez and Analdy Lopez, the fourth seeds.

First place for Guatemala and also for Peru (Gabriela Soto, Francesca Vargas) and Chile ‘A’ (Katherine Low, Cristal Meneses), the respective fifth and sixth seeds, they topped their groups.

Main Draw Places Reserved
Places in the main draw and in addition to Brazil’s Karina Hayama and Martina Kohatsu; there were also places booked, as a result of finishing in second place, by Argentina ‘B’ (Maria Aguerre, Susana Ulloa), Venezuela ‘B’ (Luisa Cardozo, Carmen Rivas), Puerto Rico ‘B’ (Adriana Diaz, Nicole Torres), Chile ‘B’ (Catalina Fernandez) and Argentina ‘A’ (Maia Harima, Agustina Iwasa).

Junior Boys’ Team
Meanwhile, in the Junior Boys’ Team event, the leading outfits all enjoyed success with the top four seeds never extended to five matches in any fixture.

It was first place in the group with comparative ease for Brazil ‘A’ (Hugo Calderano, Eric Jouti), Argentina ‘A’ (Juan Daher, Pablo Saragovi), Brazil ‘B’ (Vitor Ishiy, Massao Kohatsu) and Chile ‘A’ (Gustavo Gomez, Sebastian Roman). Similarly, Peru (Julio Li, Juan Luperdi) and Chile ‘B’ (Juan Lamadrid, Alfonso Olave) also emerged as group winners.

Runners Up
Second places and thus places in the main draw were secured by: Mexico ‘C’ (Gustavo Guttierez, Alberto Romo), Venezuela (Pablo Navarro, Jan Medina), the joint Ecuador and Venezuela outfit of Ian Aulestia and Frangher Coronel in addition to Puerto Rico ‘A’ (Brian Afanador, Ricardo Jimenez), Argentina ‘B’ (Lucas Bayona, Diego Teplitzky) and Ecuador (Rodrigo Tapia, Pablo Vanegas).

The team events conclude on Wednesday 18th July 2012.


Click here to Open

Read also

Seeking Better Performance, Home Soil May Prove Advantage for Offiong Edem ,

Title Regained, Title Retained, Bojan Tokic and Manca Fajmut Slovenian Champions ,

Notable Absentee but Full Confidence in Colleagues ,

Top Seeds Secure Last Eight Places but Unheralded Brazilian Duo Upsets Seeding ,

Andrea Guzman in Form, Peru Causes First Stage Junior Girls’ Team Surprise ,

Santiago Hosts for First Latin American Development Course of Year ,

No Rest for Newly Crowned South American Champions, Back to Action Immediately ,

More Gold for Bruna Takahashi, Brazilian Secures Full House in Paraguay ,

Member of First World Hopes Team, the Leading Name in Asuncion ,

Off the Table: The Charming Lady with a Bright Smile and a Strong Will ,


© Copyright 2002 - International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF)
  ITTF Pro Tour